Tournament History

The USTA Pro Circuit first came to Edwardsville in 2011 when another Illinois site had to cancel its tournament at the last minute. Because of our outstanding tennis community, we were able to launch the first Edwardsville Futures Pro Circuit tennis tournament in a matter of six weeks and expose more than 1,600 members of our community to world-class tennis.

The USTA was so impressed with the Edwardsville Futures site, community, fans and executive team it renewed the tournaments contract and has returned every summer thereafter. Since the first summer, businesses and individuals in the Edwardsville/Glen Carbon area have become highly involved, supporting the tournament both financially and manually. More than 100 individuals have supported the Edwardsville Futures by volunteering countless hours, housing players throughout the week of the main draw, and donating food and other necessities for the tournament. Thirty local businesses have generously made financial contributions to the tournament; without them the tournament wouldn’t still be able to return each summer.

Summer after summer, the Edwardsville Futures continues to accomplish what it initially set out to do - attract new tennis fans, give kids and adults alike the opportunity for a glimpse at what a professional tennis tournament looks and feels like, allow fans up-close access to pro tennis, and show the United States Tennis Association that Edwardsville is an outstanding tennis community.

2011 Results

Singles Winner: Blake Strode 
Singles Finalist: Evan King 

Doubles Winners: Nicolas Meister & John Peers
Doubles Finalists: Devin Britton & Bradley Cox

2012 Results

Singles Winner: Ante Pavic
Singles Finalist: Eric Quigley

Doubles Winners: Daniel Nguyen & Ryan Rowe
Doubles Finalists: Hyeon Chung & Ji Sung

2013 Results

Singles Winner: Jason Jung
Singles Finalist: Dimitar Kutrovsky

Doubles Winners: Keith-Patrick Crowley & Ruan Roelofse
Doubles Finalists: Patrick Davidson & Leon Frost

2014 Results

Singles Winner: Mitchell Frank
Singles Finalist: Yuki Bhambri

Doubles Winners: Patrick Davidson & Saketh Myneni
Doubles Finalists: Bjorn Fratangelo & Mitchell Krueger

2015 Results

Singles Winner: Evan King
Singles Finalist: Clay Thompson

Doubles Winners: Alan Kohen & John Lamble
Doubles Finalists: Scott Clayton & Richard Gabb

2016 Results

Singles Winner: Tennys Sandgren

Singles Finalist: Marc Polmans

Doubles Winner: Connor Smith & Jackson Withrow

Doubles Finalists: Luke Bambridge & Marc Polmans

Edwardsville Futures Player Success Stories

In addition to the outstanding tennis that has taken place on the Edwardsville High School tennis courts, many Edwardsville Futures players have advanced throughout the Pro Circuit and even competed at the Grand Slam level. 

John Peers
2011 Edwardsville Futures 

Our 2011 doubles champion boasts a career high national doubles ranking of 17, second place finish with doubles partner Jamie Murray at the 2015 Wimbledon, as well as three appearances at the Australian Open, three appearances at the French Open, four appearances at Wimbledon, two appearances at Roland Garros, and two appearances at the US Open.

Blake Strode

2011 Edwardsville Futures 

Blake, our 2011 singles champion and St. Louis native, left our tournament and flew straight to the US Open where he competed at the qualifying tournament and won a round before dropping in three sets.

John-Patrick Smith

2011 & 2012 Edwardsville Futures

JP has made four appearances at the Australian Open, two appearances at the US Open, three appearances at Wimbledon, and one appearance at French Open.